Travel Information


For Croatian citizens: After 1 July 2013, Croatian citizens may enter any EU Member State  (+ Liechtenstein and Norway), as well as Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, and Serbia with a valid personal identification card (issued after January 1,2003) the same as with a valid passport.

To travel to other states, one should have a valid passport and check whether a visa is also required to enter a specific state (for details choose respective country in the menu on the top of the page or contact:

For foreign citizens: As of 1 January 2023, the Schengen acquis is in full application in the Republic of Croatia as a Schengen area Member State.

The travel document which a third-country national is using to enter Croatia must be valid for at least another three months after the planned departure from Croatia and issued within the previous 10 years (e.g. an third-country national staying in Croatia until 26 December 2013 has to hold a passport valid at least until 27 March 2014). This does not apply to EU/EEA citizens who can enter Croatia with a passport or an identity card, both valid for the duration of stay and exit from Croatia.



Entering another state, you may be required to have your entry noted by the border control authorities – they will stamp your passport with an entry stamp that indicates the border crossing and date of entry. Failure to have your passport stamped may result in large fines and prohibition to entry the territory of a state.



The danger of terrorism is global. To date, terrorist attacks have targeted places frequented by a great number of people (airports and railway stations, tourist resorts, religious sites, markets…), causing many civilian victims.

Before your journey, we recommend you to check the information about the current situation in the country to which you are travelling from all available sources.

Anything suspicious (unsupervised luggage at a station, at the airport, suspicious behaviour etc.) should be reported to the police.