Restrictive Measures

Restrictive measures (sanctions) are instruments of a diplomatic or economic nature that seek to change activities or policies such as violations of international law or human rights, or policies that do not respect the rule of law or democratic principles.
With the accession of the Republic of Croatia to the European Union, the acquis communautaire of the European Union became legally binding in the Republic of Croatia.
The European Union applies sanctions or restrictive measures in the implementation of the special objectives of the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) specified in Article 11 of the Treaty on the European Union: protection of common values, fundamental interests, independence and integrity of the Union in accordance with the principles of the UN Charter; strengthening the security of the Union in all aspects, maintaining peace and strengthening international security in accordance with the principles of the UN Charter and the Helsinki Final Act and the goals of the Paris Charter, including those related to external borders; promotion of international cooperation; development and consolidation of democracy and the rule of law and respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms. A general statement of the EU policy can be found in the Basic Principles in the Use of Restrictive Measures (Sanctions) (Council document 10198/1/04).
The EU adopts restrictive measures either on an autonomous basis or by implementing binding resolutions of the United Nations Security Council. Restrictive measures introduced by the EU may target third country governments or non-state actors and individuals (such as terrorist groups and terrorists). They may include arms embargoes, other specific and general trade restrictions (import or export bans), financial restrictions, admission restrictions (visa bans or travel bans) or, as appropriate, other measures.        
Using the CFSP framework, 27 EU member states implement sanctions imposed by the United Nations Security Council under Chapter VII of the UN Charter. The Security Council is granted the authority by the UN Charter to make decisions, binding on all UN members, on restrictive measures that are necessary to preserve or establish international peace and security, and in the event of a threat to peace, breach of peace or aggression.
In addition to the aforementioned EU acquis in the area of restrictive measures, the Republic of Croatia has the Law on Restrictive Measures in effect (Official Gazette of the Republic of Croatia 133/23) that lays down the procedure for the application of restrictive measures implemented by the Republic of Croatia in accordance with the legal acts of the European Union aiming to establish and preserve international peace and security, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, development of democracy and the rule of law, and other goals aligned with international law.
The Republic of Croatia is also bound by the relevant resolutions of the United Nations Security Council that introduce restrictive measures.
Law on Restrictive Measures (Official Gazette 133/2023)
Decision on the establishment, content and use of the Collection of data on restrictive measures, natural and legal persons and other entities to which the restrictive measures apply (Official Gazette 13/24) 
List of equipment that could be used for internal repression
New geopolitical security-related circumstances have intensified activities regarding the introduction of new restrictive measures. The Russian aggression against Ukraine, and crises in the Middle East and Africa have led to a significant increase in the use of sanctions by the EU. There are now EU sanctions regimes against approximately 35 countries, regimes and terrorist organisations.
In this regard, the Russian aggression against Ukraine should be highlighted, which brought a series of new restrictive measures against Russia and its allies Belarus, Iran and North Korea, which support actions against the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine.
EU restrictive measures against Russia are Regulation 833/2014 and Regulation 269/2014
Chronology of EU sanctions against Belarus
Chronology of EU sanctions against Iran
Chronology of EU sanctions against North Korea
Pursuant to Article 8 paragraph 1 of the Law on Restrictive Measures, all natural and legal persons, state administrative bodies and other subjects are required to act in accordance with its provisions and the regulations adopted on its basis.
Interactive map of the European Commission concerning the current EU and UN sanctions regimes
Consolidated list of persons, entities and groups under EU financial sanctions
UN Security Council sanctions and a consolidated list of individuals and entities


For additional information about sanctions regimes and restrictive measures, please contact the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs at:
Frequently asked questions related to the implementation of Council Regulation 833/2014 and Council Regulation 269/2014 - Responses from the Commission
EU guidelines for effective implementation of restrictive measures
General guidelines on the application of the Law on Restrictive Measures 
Information pages of the European Commission
Preventing the evasion of sanctions - Guidelines for EU operators in carrying out due diligence