Model Council of the European Union Debate

The European Commission Representation in Ireland organized the 12th Model Council of the European Union Debate for secondary school students from around Ireland in Dublin Castle on the 1st of March 2019. Each of the twenty-eight schools represented a different EU Member State. The topic of this year"s debate was the 2021-2027 financial framework. Each participating school adopted the real position of the assigned Member State. The winning school gets the prize of "Euroscola" which includes a visit for their class to the European Parliament in Strassbourg in September 2019. Croatia was represented by three students from St Colombas Secondary School, Stranorlar, Donegal. The debate was inaugurated by the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Helen McEntee TD, the head of the European Commission Representation in Ireland, Gerry Kiely, and by the senator and Fine Gael spokesperson for European Affairs, Neale Richmond. After the whole day of debating, St Colombas, the school representing Croatia took the victory. Mairead McGuinness, the vice-president of the European Parliament handed in the prize to the winning team. The members of the jury were Noelle O"Connell, the executive director of the European Movement Ireland, James Temple Smithson, Head of the Office of the European Parliament in Ireland, and senator Neale Richmond, the Fine Gael public relations officer for European Affairs. The embassy delegation attended this debate, and Mr. Ivan Mašina, the Croatian Ambassador to Ireland, met the team and presented them with materials on Croatia along with small gifts and souvenirs.

Press releases