Ministarstvo vanjskih i europskih poslova

Sanctions and Restrictive Measures

Legislative Framework

The restrictive measures are safety measures whose purpose is to preserve peace and to enhance international security, that is, to solve critical situations without the use of force by making pressure on countries, organizations or entities against whom such measures have been lifted.

 The restrictive measures imposed by the corresponding UN Security Council resolutions are enforced due to the commitments undertaken by the UN Charter, as an international agreement which is, further to Article 140 of the Constitution of the Republic of Croatia, considered part of the internal legal order of the Republic of Croatia with the legal force above the law.

The Republic of Croatia implements, enforces or removes international restrictive measures against countries, international organizations, territorial entities, movements or physical or legal persons according to the Act on International Restrictive Measures (Official Gazette  139/08).

Other relevant links

More information on restrictive measures and sanctions is available on the following Internet webpages:

EU Sanctions Map

The EU Sanctions Map  is a web environnent where anyone interested can receive up-to-date information regarding sanctions being implemented in the EU.

This map is a user-friendly source of up-to-date information on the various sanctions applied in the EU.  As the name suggests, sanctions applied by the EU are shown on a world map where users can find the information they need either on the map or on the list of restrictions.  The Sanctions Map is to solve problems concerning accessing information, and help make EU sanctions policies more transparent and comprehensible to the public.

The EU Sanctions Map is the digital contribution of the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the EU during the second half of 2017.  At the end of the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the EU, Estonia has handed over the administration of EU Sanctions Map to the European Commission.