Ministarstvo vanjskih i europskih poslova

The Portuguese Republic is the tenth Member State of the EU to have ratified the SAA...

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Croatia welcomes the completion of the procedure for the ratification of the Stabilisation and Association Agreement (SAA) between the Republic of Croatia and the European Communities and their Member States in the Portuguese Republic as of 1 July 2003, when the Portuguese official bulletin “Diario da Republica” published the Decision of the President of the Republic on the Ratification of the Agreement.

The Portuguese Republic is the tenth Member State of the European Union to have ratified the SAA. It is expected that by the end of 2003 the Agreement will be ratified in the remaining five Member States of the EU - Luxembourg, Belgium, Finland, Italy and Great Britain. The SAA will enter into force after all EU Member States have ratified it.

The Portuguese ratification, coming immediately after the successful summit between the EU and the participants in the Stabilisation and Association Process in Salonika, is another step forward in Croatia's approach to the EU.

Press releases