International Conference “The Legacy of Peace: 25 Years of the Dayton-Paris Peace Agreement”

To commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Dayton-Paris Peace Agreement, formally signed on 14 December 1995 in Paris, the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts and the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs are organizing the International Conference “The Legacy of Peace – 25 Years of the Dayton-Paris Peace Agreement”.  The aim of this one-day conference is to revisit the historical achievement of the Dayton-Paris Peace Agreement and offer views on what the Agreement meant 25 years ago and what it means today.

15 December 2020, 14:00 – 20:00

National University Library, Zagreb

Livestream available:



14:05 – 14:10 -Velimir Neidhardt, President of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts

Introductory Remarks:

14:10 – 14:30 -Andrej Plenković, Prime Minister of the Republic of Croatia

14:30 – 14:40 -Josep Borrell Fontelles, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs

and Security Policy / Vice President (video message)

Panel 1 “From the Washington to the Dayton Agreement: What Made Peace Possible?”:

15:00 – 16:25

Mate Granić, Foreign Minister of Croatia during the Washington and Dayton talks

Haris Silajdžić, Former Member of the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Prime Minister of BiH

during the Washington and Dayton talks

General Wesley Clark, Former NATO Supreme Allied Commander Europe, US military representative at the Dayton talks

Miomir Žužul, Former Foreign Minister of Croatia, member of the Croatian negotiating team at the Dayton talks

Christopher Hill, Ambassador, Richard Holbrooke’s deputy at the Dayton talks

Moderator: Robin Harris, Historian and former adviser to UK Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher

Panel 2 “Linking the Principle of three Constituent Peoples and the Sejdić-Finci judgement: What is the way forward?”:

16:30 – 17:55

Christopher McCrudden, Professor of Human Rights and Equality Law, Queen’s University Belfast

Brendan O’Leary, Lauder Professor of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania

Kasim Trnka, Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Sarajevo, chief legal counselor of the BiH delegation at the Washington and Dayton talks

Dražen Barbarić, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Mostar

Marko Prelec, Consulting analyst, International Crisis Group

Edward P. Joseph, Professorial Lecturer, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies

Moderator: Tihomir Vinković, Chief Foreign Affairs Editor, HRT Croatian Radiotelevision

Remarks by Foreign Ministers:

18:00 – 18:25

Jean-Yves Le Drian, Minister of Europe and Foreign Affairs, France (video message)

Sergei Lavrov, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Russia - video message (video message)

Panel 3 “Euro-Atlantic Commitment to Bosnia and Herzegovina”

18:30 – 20:00

Gordan Grlić Radman, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, Croatia

Olivér Várhelyi, Commissioner for Neighbourhood and Enlargement, European Commission (video message)

Zlatko Lagumdžija, Former Prime Minister and Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Nikola Špirić, Chairman of the House of Peoples of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Dragan Čović, Vice- Chairman of the House of Peoples of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Miroslav Lajčák, EU Special Representative for the Belgrade-Pristina Dialogue and other Western Balkan regional issues (video message)

Željana Zovko, Vice-Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the European Parliament

W. Robert Kohorst, Ambassador of the United States of America to Croatia (video message)

Moderator: Vanja Gavran, Deputy Secretary General of the International Pan-European Union